Student shares UIL experience

Students type furiously to finish their final sentences, and sighs of relief flood the room as they see their papers printing.

“I love the UIL experience,” Maeley Herring, senior at Archer City High School, said. “I love just being able to compete in what I love and share that time with my friends.”

Maeley
Maeley Herring placed third at the 2016 UIL State Journalism Meet in News Writing. Herring will compete at the regional meet in News and Feature Writing April 7-8. Photo by Carol Cox

Herring placed third at the 2016 UIL State Journalism Meet in News Writing and accounted for half of the state champion team. This year, she placed second in News Writing and first in Feature Writing at district to advance to the regional meet April 7-8.

“My first [UIL] experience was as a sophomore,” Herring said. “I competed in News, Features and Editorials. I really love just being able to write, and the prompts are relatable, real-life situations.”

Competing in UIL events, said Herring, gives students tools for success in the future.

“UIL teaches me time management and how to work under pressure, which is something I struggle with most of the time,” Herring said. “It gives me experience writing, and writing will be relevant in everything I do. You use it all the time.”

Herring plans to build upon her journalism skills throughout college and life afterward as well.

“I want to go to Texas Tech to study Ag Communications,” Herring said, “so the experience UIL has given me and just the ability to be able to write will really help me with what I’m going to do later in life.”

Leave a Reply

